Thursday, 20 July 2017

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt - review

A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose? (Publishers' blurb)

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an open and honest review.

It's been a glorious year for YA contemporary, with The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas, Release by Patrick Ness, Wing Jones by Katherine Webber and now Truth or Dare by Non Pratt. 

The structure of this book was sheer brilliance and it worked really well for the plot. I loved how the first half of the book was told from Claire's perspective and then the book literally flipped for Sef's. When I got to the end of Claire's section I was initially gutted, as she was a great character and I became really attached to her viewpoint.
Seeing the story from Sef's side was really effective, in terms of seeing his views on what had already happened as well as revealing new pieces of the story. 

Both characters had strong, distinctive voices, and this made me invested in both of their stories. I liked that certain character's motivations weren't always admirable (I'm trying really hard to avoid spoilers here!) as it felt realistic. 

This also gave me such powerful feels that I cried from happiness a couple of times (which is not at all like me!) It made me hopeful about the state of humanity to think that two people could embark on a journey to raise money for someone else. I thought the book dealt really well with the subject of brain injury, considering how it would impact on the person affected and those around them. 

Truth or Dare is a heartwarming, moving book that is also very real and funny. Even writing this review is making me want to start reading it all over again.


  1. *bumps up the tbr as I've not read yet* - thanks for linking this up to the British Books Challenge x