Saturday, 9 May 2020

The Good Hawk review


A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues...

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix 
and Michelle Paver.

The Good Hawk
 is the start of a gripping new series that is perfect for upper primary and lower secondary children, and anyone who wants a sweeping, adventurous read.

I loved the mythology and wild Scottish setting of this book. It’s a richly described world where the fantasy touches are unique and woven cleverly into the distinctive setting.

The alternating viewpoints worked really well and the extracts told through verse added a fresh, interesting dimension. I don't think I've ever read a book where a viewpoint character has Down's Syndrome. Agatha is a brilliant, very believable character, with strength and agency. 

The plot of this book is also dark and gripping. It isn't often that the twists and turns of the plot catch me by surprise and I can't wait to see how this story develops in the next book!

Thank you to Walker Books for the gifted copy.



No comments:

Post a comment